ShoreTel Server-Side Call History
Server-Side Call History
Prior versions of ShoreTel Communicator recorded call information into a call history file on the user’s computer.
If the PC was turned off, ShoreTel Communicator application was not running, or the user was logged into ShoreTel Communicator on a different computer, then calls were not recorded to the local PC history file.
- In ShoreTel 12, call history in Communicator for Windows is always complete since it’s now server-based.
- This enhancement is transparent to the user and existing call history viewing functionality remains unchanged.
- After the system is upgraded to ShoreTel 12, users are not required to launch ShoreTel Communicator in order to collect call history information.
- The ShoreTel server records call history under all of the above-listed conditions and stores the data on the user’s ShoreTel server.
- The call history is available for user access anywhere they are logged into the ShoreTel system. If a user is moved from one server to another, the user’s call history is automatically moved as well.
- The client history can be saved via an xml file, if needed.
- The implementation of the enhancement is bundled into the ShoreTel installation and no additional configuration is necessary.
- Call history records are accessed and displayed in the Communicator History Viewer in the same manner as previous releases.
Usage and Limitations
Call History (calls, notes and deletions)
- If a user upgrades to ShoreTel 12 from any release prior to 11, none of the user’s previous call history is transferred into the server history database.
- If a user upgrades from ShoreTel 11 (or newer) to ShoreTel 12 and used Communicator for Web, the user’s Communicator for Web call history (up to 1000 records) is transferred into the server history database.
- If a user upgrades from ShoreTel 11 (or newer) to ShoreTel 12, none of the user’s call history from Communicator for Windows is transferred into the server history database.
- If the user is accessing the Call Details window in Communicator and the connection to the server history is interrupted, the Call Details window becomes read only until the connection to the server history is restored.
- If a user moves from one server to another, the user’s call history is transferred to the managing server. For example, if a user uses the 731 option from within the user’s voice mail to assign their extension to another IP phone, the ShoreTel system moves their call history to the new managing server. The user may experience a short delay while all records are transferred between servers.
- Server-side call history is limited to 1000 records per user. When the limit is reached, the oldest records are deleted.